LOUTH NAVIGATION - LISTS OF COMMISSIONERS

Please note that this is not the definitive list of all commissioners - more will be added as research continues.

As well as their initial role in raising money by subscription from shareholders for the construction of the canal, the commissioners had other functions. They appointed the engineer and supervised the construction of the canal. Post-construction their overall role was to ensure the smooth running of the canal, that depths were maintained; that the canal didn't silt up and public wharfages were kept in a good state of repair. At the Riverhead they were involved in leasing out parcels of land which were then used by merchants and tradesmen for a variety of commercial, or occasionally private, purposes. The 1828 commissioners are to oversea the implementation of the 1828 act.

	List of Louth Canal Commissioners - 9 George IV Act of Parliament - 1828					
	? - indicates unsubstantiated, or unclear fact, or ongoing research.					
	(xx) - indicates still alive & present on UK Census 18xx					
No.	Name	App'd	Residence	Occupation	Research Notes	
1	Marmaduke Alington			Clerk (to the Commissioners)		
2	George Alington					
3	Henry Alington					
4	Hildebrand William Alington					
5	Charles Allix					
6	Hinman Raddish Allenby					
7	Samuel Allenby					
8	William Allison					
9	Edward Allison					
10	William Grant Allison					
11	George Allen					
12	Ayscough Boucherett					
13	Edwin Brackenbury					
14	John Norton Booth					
15	Daniel Benson			Clerk (to the Commissioners)		
16	Thomas Bogg					
17	John Bogg					
18	Christopher Byron					
19	John Byron					
20	Charles Bellwood					
21	Sir Montague Cholmely			Baronet	Daughter marries son of 125	
22	Charles Chaplin					
23	William Chaplin			Clerk (to the Commissioners)		
24	Charles Sutton Chaplin			Clerk (to the Commissioners)		
25	Richard Chaplin					
26	Frederick Chaplin					
27	Charles Marshall			M.D.		

	1			
	Clarke			
28	Robert Cracroft			
29	Thomas Turnill Cartwright			
30	Thomas Leach Cross			
31	John Cambell			
32	Henry Chapman			
33	Robert Chatterton			
34	The Honourable Champion Dymoke			
35	Henry Dymoke			
36	Francis John Bateman Dashwood			
37	Richard Dawson			
38	Richard Dawson (the younger)			
39	Richard Elmhirst			
40	William Elmhirst			
41	Robert Epworth			
42	John Emeris		Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
43	Adam Eve			
44	William Eve			
45	John Eve			
46	Barnadiston Forrester Fowler		Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
47	John Fytche			
48	John Gould Floyer			
49	David Fridlington			
50	John Foster			
51	John Charles Giradot			
52	Stephen Gray			
53	George Gray			
54	Edward Gray			
55	Langley Gace			
56	Isle Grant			
57	Benjamin Grant			
58	Richard Grant			
59	Field Flowers Goe			
60	George Heneage			
61	George Fieschi Heneage			
62	Edward Heneage			
63	Theophilus Harneis			
64	Theophilus			

	Harneis (the younger)			
65	Thomas Harneis			
66	William Hyde			
67	Benjamin Hyde			
68	William Harrold			
69	William Henry Hart			
70	William Hardy			
71	Thomas Hudson			
72	Grantham			
, _	Hodgson			
73	Sir William Amcotts Ingilby		Baronet	
74	George Jackson		Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
75	John Jackson (the elder)			
76	Wolley Jolland		Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
77	Sir Edward Knatchbull		Baronet	
78	John King			
79	Joseph Livesey			
80	John Loft			
81	William Loft			
82	William Loft (the younger)			
83	Henry Lucas			
84	Frederick Lucas			
85	George Lister			
86	George Lister (the younger)			
87	Matthew Bancroft Lister			
88	Henry Lister			
89	John Herbert Lloyd			
90	Joseph Larder			
91	John Maddison			
92	John Maddison (the younger)			
93	Charles Burrell Massingberd			
94	Charles Godfrey Mundy			
95	James Mason			
96	Henry Neve			
97	John Naull (the younger)			
98	Richard Nell			
99	Thomas Oldham			
100	Francis Overton			
	Thomas Overton			

102	Stephen Preston			Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
103	Samuel Carter Pettener				
104	John Michael Phillips			Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
105	John Parkinson				
106	Lysimachus Parker (the younger)				
107	Cornelius Parker				
108	Thomas Pearson				
	John Robinson			Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
	The Hon. Viscount Stanhope				
111	Sir Richard Sutton			Baronet	
112	George Searle				
113	William Scrope				
114	William Smith				
115	Bryan Smith				
116	Edmund Smyth			Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
117	Anthony Sharpley				
118	Col. Charles de Laet Waldo Sibthorpe			M.P. for Lincoln	Opposed Railways, Crystal Palace & reknowned xenophobe
119	George Tennyson				
120	Richard Thew				
121	John Trolove				
122	Samuel Trought		Mercer Row, Louth	Surgeon	later Mayor of Louth
123	Christopher Taylor				
124	Robert Vyner				
	Sir William Earle Welby			Baronet	Son married Frances, daughter of 21
126	Charles Thorold Wood				
127	William Wilson				
128	John Waite			Clerk (to the Commissioners)	
129	John Deane Waite				
130	William Teale Welfitt				
131	Charles Wing				
132	Joseph Wright				
133	John Walkington				
134	James Whiting Yorke				
11	and their Cussess	arc to h		ner herein-after mentioned, heing duly gual	ified according to the Divertion

[&]quot;.... and their Successors, to be elected in manner herein-after mentioned, being duly qualified according to the Direction of this Act, shall be and they are hereby appointed Commissioners for putting this Act in execution."